An Irish forum to discuss pragmatic sustainability??

I’m wondering if others are finding it difficult to source stuff that’s produced sustainably. In the past, I didn’t have money to buy things so this was not a problem for me. I mean, I had to buy petrol and tax and insure a car, and insure myself as a yoga teacher, but I was always one step behind in these things and I had more or less accepted that I would be in a state of (im)permanent penury, given the difficulty I had reconciling the idea of making money with the idea that we are living, collectively, as a species, in a way that exploits and destroys the habitats and chances for evolutionary exploration of most other large species. Anyhow, for some reason (I’ll go into this another time) I have overcome my misgivings for now, and as a result (I believe) I’m now able to consider making choices about what to buy, and what to invest in. What immediately becomes apparent is how difficult it is to buy sustainably produced products. I’m not talking about food – though that’s difficult enough if you’re living marginally – I mean with the things you need to run a business. Printer cartridges. Paper – does anyone know where you can buy recycled printer paper that competes, in price, with non-recycled stuff? I’ve come across this before, of course, and I know that industry manipulates the market place and has put recyclers out of business. But don’t we, as consumers (yey! I’m now a proper consumer – making consumer choices!) have some clout, some leverage in what we decide to buy? Isn’t that how it’s supposed to work? So, for instance, if we set up a forum here in Ireland for all those who were interested in sustainability at a level where that doesn’t just mean window dressing, could we not work out, together, some way of deciding which businesses to support – and which to boycott? If this already exists, can someone point me to it?

Thanks!

About Gamanrad

Therapeutic practitioner working on realisation as response to the ecological emergency (and all else besides).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

